CRIMINAL DEFENSE

Top Attorneys for
Criminal Defense
in Southwest Virginia

Aggressive and Reliable When it Comes to Criminal Defense

In the state of Virginia, criminal sentences vary upon the offense. The more serious the crime, the more severe the penalty. In fact, some convictions can result in the death penalty or life in prison, while some crimes only have a penalty of hefty fines but no jail time. The importance of dependable legal representation is unsurpassed when it comes to criminal charges, so contact the dedicated attorneys at The Lawrence Law Firm, PLC in Southwest Virginia as soon as you are in need of criminal defense. We offer legal services for many types of criminal cases, including:

Drug possession

Marijuana charges

Assault & battery

Malicious wounding

Guns & weapons charges

Boating under the influence

Driving under the influence

Hunting violations

Public drunkenness

Underage drinking

Juvenile crimes

Sex crimes

Shoplifting

Embezzlement

Reckless driving

criminal defense image of handcuffs and a gavel

Defense Against Misdemeanors & Felonies in Virginia

An experienced attorney is essential for your best chance at the results you need in court. Most criminal offenses are grouped into categories of misdemeanors or felonies. Generally speaking, misdemeanors are lesser crimes than felonies, and can result in less severe penalties. Class 1 misdemeanors can result in up to a year in jail and a fine of $2,500, whereas some felonies can result in death or life in prison. Crimes like domestic violence and reckless driving are considered misdemeanors, whereas crimes that include murder and burglary with a deadly weapon are felonies. Therefore, the reputable lawyers at The Lawrence Law Firm, PLC in Virginia are a great defense against criminal charges, especially with penalties such as:

CLASS 1 MISDEMEANOR

Up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both

CLASS 2 MISDEMEANOR

Up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both

CLASS 3 MISDEMEANOR

A fine of up to $500

CLASS 4 MISDEMEANOR

A fine of up to $25

CLASS 1 FELONY

Life imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000; also punishable by death if the defendant is deemed mentally capable

CLASS 4 FELONY

Imprisonment for 2 to 10 years and a fine of up to $100,000

CLASS 2 FELONY

Imprisonment for 20 years to life and a fine of up to $100,000

CLASS 5 FELONY

One to 10 years in prison when the conviction is a felony, or up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500 when the conviction is a misdemeanor

CLASS 3 FELONY

Imprisonment for 5 to 20 years and a fine of up to $100,000

CLASS 6 FELONY

One to 5 years in prison for felonies or up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500 if the crime is considered a misdemeanor