DUI/DWI

DUI & DWI
Defense Attorney
for Southwest Virginia

Representation You Can Rely On

Like some states in America, DUI and DWI laws in Virginia are very strict, and the penalties for driving under the influence can be very steep. In fact, drug and alcohol-related crimes such as underage drinking, having alcohol on school property, buying alcohol for an adolescent, and even having an open container in the passenger area of a vehicle can carry harsh penalties as well. If you have been charged with a DUI, hiring a skilled attorney is the first step. Call The Lawrence Law Firm, PLC in Roanoke, VA, for legal representation you can rely on.

dui dwi image of a glass filled with hard liquor and car keys

DUI Fines & Penalties in Virginia

Penalties for DUIs can very, depending on aspects such as age, BAC, and amount of previous offenses.
The legal limit when it comes to blood alcohol level in the state of Virginia are as follows:

21 or Older: 0.08%

Commercial Drivers: 0.04%

Under 21: 0.02%

If you are found to be impaired while driving through a series of field sobriety, blood, urine, or breathalyzer tests, you may face penalties such as license suspension, fines, court-ordered restitution, and even jail time. Virginia statutes regarding driving under the influence are as follows:
FIRST OFFENSE

Seven-day license suspension

Fine of $250 to $300

One-year license revocation

Court-ordered restitution

Possible completion of Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)

Possible ignition interlock device

Possible restriction of driver’s license

Criminal record

SECOND OFFENSE

Sixty-day license suspension

Fine of $500 or more

License revocation

One month to 1 year in jail if within fewer than 5 years of first offense

Ten or more days in jail if within 5-10 years since first offense

Court-ordered restitution

Possible ignition interlock device

Possible restriction of driver’s license

Criminal record

THIRD OFFENSE

License suspension until trial

Six months in jail if within 5 years of second offense

Ninety days in jail if within 10 years of second offense

License revocation

Fine of $1,000 or more

Court-ordered restitution

Possible completion of Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)

Possible ignition interlock device

Possible restriction of driver’s license

Felony charge

FOURTH OFFENSE

License suspension until trial

Fine of $1,000

Court-ordered restitution

License revocation

One or more years in jail

Possible completion of Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)

Possible ignition interlock device

Possible restriction of driver’s license

Felony charge

EXTREMELY HIGH BAC: AT LEAST 0.15%

First Offense: additional 5 days in jail

Second Offense: additional 10 days in jail if within 10 years of first offense

EXTREMELY HIGH BAC: HIGHER THAN 0.20%

First Offense: 10 days in jail

Second Offense: $500 fine and 20 days in jail if within 10 years of first offense

DUI PENALTIES FOR DRIVERS UNDER 21

License suspension

Fine of $500 or more, or 50 hours of community services

Possible completion of Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)

Possible restricted driver’s license

dui dwi image of a driver drinking a beer while driving

Secure Aggressive, Experienced Legal Services if You Have Been Charged with a DUI

If you are charged with a DUI or DWI and wish to attempt to have your driver’s license reinstated, you have less than five days to hire a lawyer to represent you. Securing adequate representation in a timely manner is crucial, so contact The Lawrence Law Firm, PLC to provide you with reliable services in Southwest Virginia.